Free tool

Fund cost calculator: what a fund costs over your holding period

A PRIIPs key information document prints a fund's costs as percentages and as money for 10,000 over two holding periods. This page explains that table, then lets you run the same arithmetic for your own amount, period and cost lines, prefilled from a fund's KID when you give its ISIN.Published October 25, 2026

Calculator

Prefilled from the key information document of iShares MSCI Europe Health Care Sector UCITS ETF
iShares MSCI Europe Health Care Sector UCITS ETF (IE00BMW42181): the cost percentages and the holding period below are the ones its KID states, as FundFacts stores them. The KID states an annual cost impact of 0.20% after 1 year, 0.20% a year at the recommended holding period. Fields the KID does not state keep the defaults; the gross return is an assumption, not a forecast.
Loads the cost lines FundFacts stores for that share class.
EUR
Display only; costs scale with the amount.
The KID's recommended holding period, or your own.
years
Before costs. An assumption, not a forecast.
% / year
The KID's ongoing line, or the TER.
% / year
% / year
One-off, on the amount paid in.
%
One-off, on the value at exit.
%
Approximated as a flat yearly percentage of the value.
% / year

Your costs over time

Holding EUR 10,000 for 5 years at an assumed 5.0% gross return a year costs EUR 121 in total, of which EUR 110 is deducted as fees; the rest is the growth those fees would have earned. The return falls from 5.00% to 4.80% a year, an annual cost impact of 0.20%.
If you exit after 1 yearIf you exit after 5 years
Total costsEUR 20EUR 121
Annual cost impact (reduction in yield)0.20%0.20%
Fees actually deductedEUR 20EUR 110
Value after costs (5.0% gross return a year)EUR 10,480EUR 12,642
Value without any costEUR 10,500EUR 12,763
Same layout as the KID's “Costs over time” table. The KID assumes a 0% return in the first year and its moderate scenario afterwards; this calculator applies the gross return you choose in every year, so its figures match the KID's one-year row and differ at longer periods by the growth assumption. Nothing on this page is investment advice.

What the KID's cost table means

Since 2023 every UCITS fund and ETF sold to retail investors in the EU comes with a PRIIPs key information document (KID). Its “What are the costs?” section has two tables. The first, “Costs over time”, turns the percentages into money for an example investment of 10,000 in the fund's currency, over two holding periods: one year, and the recommended holding period the KID states (five years for most equity funds, shorter for bond and money-market funds). In the shape the KID prints it, the table of a world equity ETF with a 0.2% annual cost impact reads like this (illustrative figures; the fund page of a stored fund shows its KID's own):
Example investment: USD 10,000If you exit after 1 yearIf you exit after 5 years
Total costsUSD 20USD 110
Annual cost impact (*)0.2%0.2% each year
  • Total costsEverything taken from the investment over the period, in money: one-off entry and exit costs, the yearly management and transaction costs, any performance fee, and the growth those sums would otherwise have earned. The regulation fixes the assumptions: in the first year you get back exactly what you paid in (0% return); for the longer period the fund performs as in the KID's moderate scenario.
  • Annual cost impactThe same costs as a percentage of the return, per year: the reduction in yield. The figure for the recommended holding period is the one to compare between funds, since one-off costs are spread over the period there.
  • Composition of costsThe second table lists each cost line separately, as a percentage and often also in money for the one-year case: entry costs, exit costs, management fees and other administrative or operating costs, transaction costs, performance fees. These are the lines the calculator above takes as inputs.

How to read the reduction in yield

A fund's costs do not show up on a statement; they are taken inside the fund before its price is published. The reduction in yield (RIY) makes them visible: it is the gap between the return you would earn with no costs and the return you actually earn, per year. Three things follow from it.
  1. On 10,000, each 0.10% of annual cost impact is about 10 a year.A 0.20% impact on a 10,000 investment is around 20 in the first year; on 100,000 it is 200. The money figure scales with the amount, the percentage does not, which is why the KID prints both.
  2. One-off costs weigh most on short holding periods.A 2% entry cost on a fund held one year is a 2% reduction in yield on its own; spread over ten years it is about 0.2% a year. That is why the KID's one-year impact is often far higher than the impact at the recommended holding period for funds sold with an entry charge, and identical for most ETFs, which have none.
  3. Costs compound against you.Fees deducted in year one would have grown with the fund in every later year. Over long periods the total cost in money is therefore larger than the sum of the fees deducted, and the KID's “Total costs” row counts that lost growth. The calculator shows both numbers.

How the calculator computes

The calculator runs the KID's logic year by year, with your inputs in place of the regulatory scenario. The entry cost is taken from the amount paid in. Each year the value grows by the assumed gross return, then the management, transaction and performance costs are taken as a percentage of the value. At exit, the exit cost is taken from what is left. “Total costs” is the difference between the value with and without costs; “fees deducted” is the money actually taken; the annual cost impact is the gross return minus the annualised net return. With a 0% gross return and a one-year period the result equals the KID's one-year row; at longer periods it depends on the return you assume, where the KID uses its moderate scenario.Prefilled figures are read from the fund's own KID as FundFacts stores it, for funds already loaded; this page crawls nothing. Figures are reproduced as the fund house printed them, and a field the document does not state is left empty. Nothing on this page is investment advice.

The same figures as JSON

The API returns a fund's KID cost lines by ISIN, the costs-over-time amounts included when the KID prints them, under data.costs:
GET /api/v1/funds/IE00B4L5Y983

"costs": {
  "entry": "0.00%",
  "exit": "0.00%",
  "ongoing": "0.20%",
  "transaction": "0.00%",
  "performanceFee": "",
  "riy1y": "0.20%",
  "riyRhp": "0.20%",
  "recommendedHoldingPeriod": "5 years",
  "exampleInvestment": "USD 10,000",
  "totalCost1y": "USD 20",
  "totalCostRhp": "USD 110"
}
Every value is a string as printed in the document; an empty string means the KID does not state it. See the field reference and the quickstart.

Frequently asked questions

What does the KID's 'Costs over time' table show?

Two things for an example investment (10,000 in the fund's currency, as the PRIIPs regulation requires): the total costs in money if you exit after one year and if you exit at the recommended holding period, and the annual cost impact, the percentage by which costs reduce your return each year. The KID assumes you get your money back in the first year (0% return) and that the fund performs as in its moderate scenario afterwards.

What is the reduction in yield (RIY)?

The difference between the return you would have earned without any cost and the return after all costs, expressed per year. A fund with a 0.20% annual cost impact turns a 5% gross return into roughly 4.8% net. It is the figure to compare across funds, because it adds up one-off and recurring costs over the same holding period.

Why does the calculator differ from my KID after several years?

The one-year row matches the KID, because both assume no growth in year one. For longer periods the KID applies its moderate performance scenario, which varies by fund and by edition, while this calculator applies the single gross return you choose every year. Performance fees are also simplified to a flat yearly percentage. Use the KID's own figures when they are printed; the calculator is for amounts, periods and funds the KID does not cover.

Is the TER the same as the ongoing costs in the KID?

Nearly. The KID's 'management fees and other administrative or operating costs' line is the ongoing-charges figure of the UCITS KIID with the same scope; the TER published on factsheets is usually the same number. The KID adds transaction costs and, where applicable, a performance fee on separate lines, so the KID's annual cost impact is normally higher than the TER.

Where do the prefilled figures come from?

From the cost lines FundFacts reads in the fund's own key information document, as the fund house published it, for funds already loaded in the store. Nothing is crawled when you use this page. The figures are reproduced as printed; empty fields mean the document does not state them.

Is this investment advice?

No. The calculator applies arithmetic to the numbers you enter or the KID states. It does not predict returns, recommend funds or take your situation into account.

Need these cost lines for many funds?

One request returns a fund's KID cost lines, TER, risk indicator, holdings and performance as JSON, by ISIN. Free plan, no card.