Roundup · checked 6 October 2026

Best fund and ETF data APIs in 2026, compared

There is no single best fund data API: the right one depends on the funds you cover and the fields you must show. For European UCITS funds and ETFs looked up by ISIN, with PRIIPs KID costs and the 1–7 risk indicator, FundFacts API fits; for global ETFs with prices and full holdings on a budget, EODHD; for enterprise-scale European ETF data, Intrinio or Finnhub; for ratings and research, Morningstar. Twelve Data, FMP and Alpha Vantage are price APIs first, with fund data on higher tiers or mostly for US ETFs.Published October 6, 2026

This page is published by FundFacts API, one of the products compared. Facts on the other vendors are taken from their own websites on 6 October 2026 (see Sources); "not stated" means the pages we read did not say. We ran no benchmark. Corrections are welcome via the contact page.

The criteria

Ten questions decide whether an API fits a fund page, screener or client report:

  1. ISIN input, the one code per share class used across Europe.
  2. European UCITS coverage, as the vendor states it.
  3. Holdings: top positions or the full list, plus sector and country weights.
  4. TER or ongoing charges.
  5. PRIIPs KID costs and the 1–7 SRI, which European retail products must disclose.
  6. Prices, end-of-day and real-time.
  7. Free tier and what it allows.
  8. Cheapest plan with fund data, not just prices.
  9. Licence of that plan: personal, internal or display.
  10. MCP server for assistants and coding agents.

The comparison

ProductISIN inputEuropean UCITSHoldingsTERKID costs, SRIPricesFree tierCheapest plan with fund dataMCP
FundFacts APIYes, ISIN-firstYes, core coverageTop 10 for most funds (more for some houses), sector and country weightsYesYesNo (monthly series)15 lookups a month, personal useFree has the full payload; paid from $9.99/moYes, every plan
EODHDYesPartial: 10,000+ ETFs worldwide, UCITS not namedFull list, sector and region weightsYes (ongoing charge field)Not statedYes; real-time from €29.99/mo20 calls/day, no fundamentalsEquity Analyst €59.99/mo, personal useYes, included
IntrinioYesYes on Enterprise: 12,000+ European ETFs, UCITS flagFull list (Enterprise)YesNot statedYesNo (free trials)Enterprise from $1,250/moYes
FinnhubYes, every fund endpointYes on enterprise: global funds, EU EET dataFull list (US on the $500 plan)YesNo field in schemaYes; US real-time60 calls/min, US; fund endpoints premium$500/mo billed annually, US, personal useYes
Twelve DataPaid add-onPartial: global fund endpoints, LU ISIN exampleTop holdings, sector, country, assetYesNot statedYes; US real-time even free800 API credits/day, non-commercialUltra $999/mo; business Enterprise $1,099/moYes
FMPPartial: ISIN-to-symbol searchNot statedYes on Ultimate, depth not statedYesNot statedYes; real-time on paid plans250 calls/dayFund info from $29/mo; holdings $139/moYes
Alpha VantageNot statedNot statedYes (ETF_PROFILE), free keyYesNot statedYes; US real-time extra25 requests/day, non-commercialFree key; premium from $49.99/moYes
MarketstackNot statedNot statedYes from Basic, depth not statedNot statedNoYes; real-time from $49.99/mo100 requests/mo, non-commercialBasic $9.99/mo, commercial useNot found
API NinjasNo (ticker in, ISIN out)Partial: non-US listings, UCITS not namedFull list (paid)Yes (paid)Not statedReal-time paid, 15-min delayed free3,000 calls/month, evaluation onlyDeveloper $59/mo ($39 billed yearly)Yes
TradefeedsYesNot statedYes, depth not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated in plansNo$9.00 first month, then $99/moNot found
Morningstar (Direct Web Services)Not stated (ticker or name lookup)Global funds and ETFsTop 10–100 (MCP), X-RayYesNot statedNot statedNoNot public (sales)Yes, licensed account
OpenFIGIYes (mapping only)Identifiers onlyNoNoNoNoFree, rate-limitedn/a: no fund dataNot found

FundFacts API covers UCITS funds and ETFs, money-market and most open-end funds and French SCPIs, from each fund house's documents; not stocks or bonds, and no quotes, intraday data or daily NAV feed, only monthly series. Holdings are the top 10 for most funds, up to 50 for Amundi, Franklin Templeton, J.P. Morgan and UBS, and the full portfolio for Spanish funds (CNMV register); sector, country and asset weights and the holdings count come from the full holdings file where the issuer publishes one. Free is $0 for 15 lookups a month (personal use, no card), Starter $9.99 a month for 500 requests, and commercial use starts on Pro at $49 a month (VAT included).

Best for…

  • European UCITS funds by ISIN with KID costs and the SRI, self-serve: FundFacts API. Of the twelve APIs above, it is the one whose documentation lists PRIIPs KID costs and the 1–7 SRI, with a free plan. No prices or complete constituent files: EODHD, Finnhub, Intrinio and API Ninjas document full lists.
  • Client-ready PDF factsheets from an ISIN: FundFacts API. Factsheets render the same data as a one-page PDF; your own template comes with Pro, Scale and Enterprise.
  • Global ETFs with prices, ISIN search and full holdings on a budget: [EODHD](https://eodhd.com). The closest affordable rival: an ongoing-charge field, sector and region weights and an MCP server for €59.99 a month. No KID or SRI fields stated, mutual funds US only, personal use (commercial internal use from €399 a month).
  • European UCITS ETFs at enterprise scale: [Intrinio](https://intrinio.com) or [Finnhub](https://finnhub.io). Intrinio lists 12,000+ European ETFs with a UCITS flag and ISIN lookup; Finnhub takes an ISIN on every fund endpoint and adds EU EET data. Both are enterprise-priced (Intrinio from $1,250 a month; Finnhub's self-serve fund plan is US-only at $500).
  • Real-time prices first, fund data second: [Twelve Data](https://twelvedata.com) or [FMP](https://site.financialmodelingprep.com). Twelve Data's fund endpoints need its $999 Ultra tier and an ISIN add-on; FMP has fund profiles from $29 and holdings from $139 a month, display under a separate licence.
  • Free US ETF data: [Alpha Vantage](https://www.alphavantage.co) (holdings and expense ratio with a free key, 25 requests a day, personal use) or [TickerInside](https://tickerinside.com/agent) (holdings, overlap and look-through; free JSON API and MCP, CC BY 4.0, US ETFs only, no ISIN).
  • Lowest entry price for commercial ETF holdings among the vendors checked: [Marketstack](https://marketstack.com), $9.99 a month with commercial use, but no fees, ISIN lookup or fund metadata documented.
  • Ratings, analyst research and portfolio X-Ray: [Morningstar](https://www.morningstar.com/business/products/direct-web-services). The reference, over 300,000 investments, licensed with no public price: see Morningstar API alternatives.
  • Mapping ISINs to tickers and FIGIs: [OpenFIGI](https://www.openfigi.com). Free, no fund data; it complements the others.

Also checked: API Ninjas takes tickers only and allows no caching or storing below its $199 Business plan; Tradefeeds advertises $9.00 for the first month, then $99 a month. justETF has no public API.

How to choose

  1. Identifiers: if you hold ISINs, drop APIs that take tickers only or charge extra for ISIN.
  2. Fields: KID costs and the SRI are not stated by any market-data API here.
  3. Prices and factsheets: many products need a price API and a fund data API side by side.
  4. Licence: the individual plans of EODHD, Twelve Data, Finnhub, Alpha Vantage and Intrinio are personal use; FMP needs a separate agreement for display.
  5. Real price: annual billing, first-month offers and add-ons change it.
  6. Test with ten of your own ISINs, including a Luxembourg fund that is not an ETF.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best API for ETF data in 2026?

It depends on the ETFs and fields. For global ETFs with prices and full holdings on a budget, EODHD; for European UCITS ETFs by ISIN with KID costs and the 1–7 SRI, FundFacts API; for enterprise European coverage, Intrinio or Finnhub; for free US ETF data, Alpha Vantage or TickerInside; for ratings and research, Morningstar.

Which ETF data APIs accept an ISIN?

FundFacts API, EODHD, Finnhub, Intrinio and Tradefeeds take an ISIN. FMP maps an ISIN to a symbol first, Twelve Data sells ISIN access as an add-on, API Ninjas returns the ISIN but takes tickers, and OpenFIGI maps ISINs to tickers without fund data.

Is there a free ETF data API?

Several. FundFacts API's Free plan gives 15 lookups a month with the full payload for personal use; Alpha Vantage's free key returns US ETF holdings and expense ratios (25 requests a day); TickerInside is free for US ETFs. EODHD's and Finnhub's free tiers exclude fund data.

Which fund data API returns PRIIPs KID costs and the SRI?

Of the twelve APIs compared here, FundFacts API is the one whose documentation lists KID costs and the 1–7 SRI. The other vendors' pages did not state them; Finnhub offers EET and SFDR data for EU funds instead.

What is the cheapest API for ETF holdings?

For US ETFs, Alpha Vantage's free key (personal use). With a commercial licence, Marketstack Basic at $9.99 a month, depth not stated. For UCITS funds by ISIN, FundFacts API from Free, mostly the top 10 positions. For full lists of global ETFs, EODHD at €59.99 a month.

Can I use cheap market-data plans in a commercial product?

Often not. EODHD, Twelve Data, Finnhub, Alpha Vantage and Intrinio's Individual plan are personal use; FMP requires a separate agreement to display data. Marketstack and API Ninjas allow commercial use on paid plans, and FundFacts API from Pro.

Does justETF have an API?

No. justETF's own pages offer a website and a portfolio tool, with no API, data feed or licensing offer. See what developers use instead.

Is this comparison biased?

It is published by FundFacts API, so read it with that in mind. Every competitor fact comes from the vendor's own site, checked on 6 October 2026 and linked under Sources; picks name the products that beat FundFacts API on prices, full holdings, coverage and research. Corrections are welcome through the contact page.

Check the data on your own funds

Create a free account (no card, 15 lookups a month) and request the ISINs you actually need before you choose.